Lab members will be notified when they try to add a request for an item that is already in an active stage of the ordering process. This page describes how this notification works and when you can expect to see it.
Here's what it looks like!
Please note the following reasons that the notification will or will not appear:
- The notification will appear if a request with the same catalog # is in the New, Approved, Ordered, or Backordered status in the Lab where it's being requested.
- The notification will not appear if a request with the same catalog # is in the Received or Cancelled status in the Lab where it's being requested.
- The notification is only based on the status of an existing request and is not based on how long it has been since the matching request has been entered. This means that if a request has been in the Ordered status for 2 months, members will continue to see the notification that they are entering a duplicate request until the older item is updated to either Received or Cancelled.
Next Up: Learn how to search and filter requests in all statuses